RSS

I Was Two Different Mothers

04 Nov

Return to homepage at AmberKinser.com

My  children have had (at least) two different mothers, even though both of them are me.  I’ve been able to articulate how different I was with each of my kids in this way since I read Ayelet Waldman’s Bad Mother: A Chronicle of Maternal Crimes, Minor Calamities, and Occasional Moments of Grace.  For a long time I just felt guilty for the shifts in my mothering practices that occurred over time, believing as I did that if the way I was mothering at a given time was something I deemed important, I should have been doing the same things with both my kids. But when I read Waldman’s book, in which one of the chapters addresses this issue in her life, I began to frame it differently and let myself off the hook a little.  I’m still working on it though.

My children are six years apart in age.  So I mothered each of them as, say, 4 year-olds or 13 year-olds at different moments in my own history and at different stages in the family.  When my daughter was four I was in school full time and worked at the same school part time; I was broke, and I was married to her dad.  It was just the three of us and life was a financial struggle but it was good.  I was new to mothering, which made it both exciting and intimidating, and I was in an educational program that I feared was over my head.  But I was a parent to only one child, not professionally grounded yet, and many hours from my own family; I had more time then than I do now, it seems, though I sure didn’t experience it that way then.  When my son was four, I had split from their dad, was in a relationship with a man who came to be their stepdad, in a much better place financially, a more experienced mother, and I had a firmer sense of my professional identity.  But I also was managing a level of stress that was different in kind from what I faced 6 years prior while working on my degree, and though it probably was not greater in amount, it was greater in long-term impact.  The pressure to “make it” was much heavier now because I didn’t have the excuse of being “just a student” anymore, because my students loans needed to be paid, and because the professional clock was ticking and I was either building a resume that would be impressive to employers down the line or I was building one that left my drive and sense of direction in question.  I spent a lot of one-on-one time with my daughter as a baby and toddler.  My son spent that kind of time largely with his dad.  And for a long time I was pained by the difference in levels of bonding I had with my two kids, though I was very happy that my son had the great opportunity to be home with his dad for a couple of years very early on.

So these differences in where I was personally and professionally had some impact on the mothering practices I engaged in with to my two 4 year-olds.  I was more frazzled with my son I think in those years, and less available for relaxed, one-on-one time.  But I was better positioned to care for him financially and I was working to get my head in a better place with a partner relationship that was a better fit for who I was becoming.  Now, I’m in a much better place for parenting him at 13 that I would otherwise have been, even though parenting him looks rather different than how I parented my daughter at 13.  But that’s a subject for another post.   More on this idea of I Was two Different Mothers later.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 4, 2010 in Families, Feminism, Motherhood, Parenting

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “I Was Two Different Mothers

Leave a Reply

 
