RSS

Day 4: Retreating Dr. Mama

16 Aug

Return to homepage at AmberKinser.com

Lots of writing accomplished today.  Not flying through this one but getting much done.  Part of what’s slowing me is I’m trying to make it simultaneously a conversational performance piece and a publishable autoethnographic article.  So it’s tricky.  Sat outside for hours with drafts, and brought the laptop out for a while to do edits under the shade of an umbrella.

For breakfast I did indeed have the steak and eggs; Fiona got the last bite of each and the plate lick.  Lunch was a salad and dinner was Moroccan chicken (a rub consisting of a bunch of spices–cumin, ginger, paprika, cinnamon, turmeric–and garlic) and cauliflower.

Nothing eventful today really, just many, many hours on the paper.  Still have a little to do, in fact, but wanted to get this posted before the clock struck twelve.  Fiona and I finally took our extended walk, trying to find places along the creek where she could go in and found a couple.  We did happen upon a horse over which Fiona was frozen where she stood, having never seen such a thing.  We walked on past finally but she kept looking back trying to make sense of it.  When we passed by it again on our way back, I called it over and as it approached Fiona came unglued.  Maybe she thought it was coming after me or us or something. I could barely get her to mellow out.  I gave her a bath tonight and am getting ready to put her to bed. And me soon after.

OK, gotta get back to the draft so I can print up a fresh copy to edit with coffee in the morning.

Thanks for reading.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 16, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Day 4: Retreating Dr. Mama

  1. Mamanym

    August 17, 2011 at 9:58 am

    I don’t even care about your Moroccan chicken and i’m not jealous in the least that you’re a great writer sitting up in your rustic cabin. NONE of those things create any negative feelings within me so you can stop trying to torment me now. It’s not working.

     
  2. Dr. Mama

    August 19, 2011 at 10:54 am

    yes, you’ve made my limited impact on you clear here. so glad have no negative vibes between us. 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
